Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Gun purchase and CYS

I am new to handgun ownership, primarily for target shooting.

A few weeks back I purchased a Ruger SR9 and have been taking training from friends and NRA courses, and enjoying it immensely. A couple of weeks back my son (age 7) was being bullied when asked in front of the other kid about the bruises, he got scared and told them his Dad hit him, This was not the case. But CYS got called in and I have been investigated, CYS told me that it was unfounded but I have not got the official report yet, they take a LONG LONG time. I am considering getting a Ruger22/45 but have a concern about getting one at the moment. Can someone tell me if this CYS thing will affect my background check. There was no restraining order or court action involved and it has been deamed as I said unfounded, but I am not sure if waiting for the unfounded report to be filed is needed?

Sorry for being long winded but great site, the forums were of great help when I was looking to buy my first handgun.

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Gun purchase and CYS

Talk to a lawyer. C&Y have a ridiculous amount of power and even without actual proof can make your life hell.

There used to be a group in the Poconos called heads held high to support innocent parents from the removal of kids from the home for no reason.

thanks, I have been consulting with a laywer. I guess innocent until found guilty does not apply with these people.
    Last edited by chiblue; October 1st, 2012 at 04:16 PM.

(Montgomery County)

CYS can be difficult to deal with and can easily violate people's civil rights if they are not careful. I have handled cases against CYS. If you know anyone who may have had their rights violated by CYS, please feel free to PM me.

Quote Originally Posted by chiblue View Post
    I am new to handgun ownership, primarily for target shooting.