Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default First Handgun Purchase

Hello- I am looking to make a handgun purchace. I am mainly concerned about safety and reliability and not so much raw power as I'm a total novice. I want a dependable, quality gun for protection and range shooting. I have heard many opinions from various folks but want some input from this forum. thanks alot.

Default Re: First Handgun Purchase

Glock, Ruger or Smith & Wesson Semi-automatic pistol. I would go with 9mm because it is effective and cheap to shoot.

In the Revolver category...Ruger LCR or Smith and Wesson calibrated to .38.

Quote Originally Posted by Btcobra2 View Post
    Hello- I am looking to make a handgun purchace. I am mainly concerned about safety and reliability and not so much raw power as I'm a total novice. I want a dependable, quality gun for protection and range shooting. I have heard many opinions from various folks but want some input from this forum. thanks alot.
    any gun is as safe as its handler. i would recommend going to a range where you can rent guns and firing a few to see what you like.

9mm is a pretty good start and springfield xd, glock and smith and wesson mp are all reliable polymer framed guns that you will probably still be happy with in years to come.

if you are looking at classic, all stainless models like 1911s i think the ruger sr1911 give you a lot of bang for your buck.

in revolvers, my preference is smith and wesson followed by ruger. both have some nice, lightweight 38sp models that are both concealable and decent to shoot at the range.

this is all preference and truthfully almost all guns from the major brands are pretty darn good nowadays. good luck and enjoy.
    Montani Semper Liberi

(Northampton County)

Get training.

Then, get either a Glock or a S&W or Ruger Revolver.

Then shoot and have fun.