Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Dauphin County)

Default Preemption and municipal property

If a county, municipality or township has a regulation which prohibits the lawful (per state law) carry of firearms in a public park or other government property open to the public, what is the likelihood of winning a lawsuit against them? I realize nothing can be predicted with certainty, I'm just curious about probabilities.

The language of 18 Pa.C.S. § 6120 seems plain enough to me, but I've seen several cautions that things may not be cut and dried when it comes to municipal property.

Is there relevant case law on the subject (not preemption generally but specifically as it applies to municipal property like parks)?
    Last edited by twency; September 4th, 2012 at 10:55 AM. Reason: added word "government" to first sentence to emphasize that that's what I'm referring to
    I am not a lawyer. Nothing I say or write is legal advice.

(Chester County)

Default Re: Preemption and municipal property

The only case that I'm aware of that have somewhat similar elements is a question of preemption by the Game Code (Title 34) as it applies to municipal property.

The court did make a distinction between general municipal legislation and a municipality asserting private property rights as a park owner.

Not saying that this answers your query but it does give some potential insight that nothing is 'cut and dried' when it comes to application of laws.

Wolfe v. Township of Salisbury, 880 A. 2d 62 - Pa: Commonwealth Court 2005
    IANAL

(Centre County)

Quote Originally Posted by twency View Post
    If a county, municipality or township has a regulation which prohibits the lawful (per state law) carry of firearms in a public park or other property open to the public, what is the likelihood of winning a lawsuit against them? I realize nothing can be predicted with certainty, I'm just curious about probabilities.