Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rifle advise

(Chester County)

Question Rifle advise

Hey guys,

I'm heading to the Valley Forge Gun Show on Saturday and I'm looking to pick up my first rifle. More specifically, I'm looking for a 'sport utility' gun for fun at the range, SHTF etc. I'm new to long guns and I'd like to spend around $500 or less.

I'm thinking that for that amount of cheddar I'd be able to pick up some AK variant? I've also been looking at the Saiga rifles (also built on an AK platform). I'd love an AR, but it seems like they are closer to $1000+ and my budget won't go that far right now.

I'd be happy to hear any advise you guys have on what types of AK (or any other guns for that matter) I should look for. Also, anything to avoid?

Many thanks,
    PC

Default Re: Rifle advise

That's a Loaded question

You should have a good idea of what you want already and what you can afford. If you go the AK route you should be able to come home with either a Romy or a Yugo -- Both are decent in my opinion with the Yugo have the edge and higher cost.

You could go the SKS route and for $500 you'd be able to get a case of ammo with gun and still have money left over. Then there's the whole Bolt action route - Mosins, Swiss K31 - Enfields etc...

Like I said, You need to have a better idea of what you want, For $500 an AR would be out of your price range unless you decide to roll your own and even then you would still go over $500 for decent parts, unless you have a horseshoe up your ass and find a decent deal.

You may be able to find a CETME for arounf $500-600 but then a case of .308/7.62 costs almost as much as the gun.

If I were you (And I'm not) I'd go the AK/SKS route for starters.
    Recoil Happens

(Chester County)

For a first rifle... for pure fun...? Ruger 10/22 and then trick it out however the hell you want.