Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lackawanna County)

Default Concealed carry reciprocity question

Hello all.
    I just moved from PA to Colorado. I have my concealed carry license for PA. I did some research on the local sheriff's office website but I am confused. PA and CO do have reciprocity but since I am no longer a PA resident I don't know if I am legally allowed to use my PA concealed carry license. So my question for you guys is: am I allowed to use up the remaining years on my PA carry lisence even though I am a resident of CO? I guess I don't really understand reciprocity. Is it just for passing through the state or does it extend to cases like mine. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

I ask mainly because getting my concealed carry license here will cost around $200.

Thanks.

Default Re: Concealed carry reciprocity question

The good news is that your Pennsylvania LTCF is valid until it expires. The bad news is that Colorado only recognizes licenses if you're a resident of the issuing state.

Quote Originally Posted by donm View Post
    The good news is that your Pennsylvania LTCF is valid until it expires. The bad news is that Colorado only recognizes licenses if you're a resident of the issuing state.
    Any other States outside Colorado that go about business this way?

Quote Originally Posted by EandGWZ View Post
    I goggled it, didn't think it would be that simple

Illinois (IL) is a "Non CCW issue state".**Colorado (CO), Michigan (MI), South Carolina (SC), New Hampshire (NH), Florida (FL), and Maine (ME) only
    honor permits from residents of the issuing states. (* Vermont, Alaska & Arizona, Anyone who can legally own a firearm can carry it concealed. No Permit/license
    is required.) TX*** only honors AG issued permit from RI. WI**** Only honors VA Non Resident Permit. OH***** Only Honrs AZ Resident Permit
    WI***** Will only honor WV Permits Issued After 6/8/12