Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default Federal Transport laws

I thought States must comply with Federal Transport laws? I saw another post where someone was saying NY doesn't comply.

This only makes sense that States must comply.

Here's a potential sceanrio. I am considering buying a NJ Shore House.

So if I am a PA Resident with a LTCF and I buy a shore house in NJ, I cannot tranport in a locked container through NJ to have the gun in a NJ home that I own? Granted it's a vacation home so I'm not a year round resident.

(Lawrence County)

Default Re: Federal Transport laws

Pretty sure the federal laws only apply to transporting through a state. You can pass through NY but not stay in NY. Same with Jersey. If you are staying there you need to do whatever they require to be legal and who knows what that may consist of.

(Northampton County)

Quote Originally Posted by jerkin View Post
    Pretty sure the federal laws only apply to transporting through a state. You can pass through NY but not stay in NY. Same with Jersey. If you are staying there you need to do whatever they require to be legal and who knows what that may consist of.
    Yup. See the Firearm Owners Protection Act:

US Code Title 18, § 926A. Interstate transportation of firearms