Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Northampton County)

Default IDPA holster for a fat guy

Now that I have been shooting for a few months, I want to take the next step and try out some IDPA events. Prior to entering in an event, I will be attending one of the Intro to IDPA classes at Ontelaunee. However, before I go, I need to get some gear -- mainly the holster/belt/mag pouch setup.

I decided on the Wilderness Instructor belt (plastic insert version for stiffness) but I am torn between Comp-Tac and Blade-Tech for the holster/mag combo.

Since I have never used/worn a holster before, I am unsure if I should go paddle or belt.

From what I can tell, if I go Blade-Tech, their Competition Pack has a belt holster that can be attached to the included paddle - best of both worlds so I can try both - so that is certainly a great option - but am not sure if that is a better product than C-T

All help is appreciated

Thanks!

Default Re: IDPA holster for a fat guy

I prefer Balde-Tech holsters, from their kydex line - not the Revolution, which is what the Competition Pac is, I believe. Revolution is fine for the mag pouches. Also, stay away from paddle holsters - when the buzzer goes off and you draw, you are likely to come out with more than just your gun. Also as a "fluffy" guy myself, they tend to be uncomfortable, with the paddle digging in, in places where skinny people don't even have places.