Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default 19 y/o handgun purchase w/Act235?

Hey everbody! I work in the Private Security field and I'm soon to become Pa Act235 certified (armed guard). Now I do know that I can carry to and from work even though I wont be 21 until next year. My question is are there special consideration for handgun purchases under the age of 21 because of occupation. For ex. in philly the min age for the pd is 19 so hypotheticly a leo at the age of 19 could buy handgun because of their line of work. If I can not purchase myself, my fiance is 21 and we live together would it be possible for her to buy it and I use it on the job? Thanks in advance for all your help.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: 19 y/o handgun purchase w/Act235?

No, you cannot buy a handgun at 18. The PD will issue the person a handgun. You only solution is to have a parent buy the handgun and give it to you as a gift.

(Beaver County)

Quote Originally Posted by Steve in PA View Post
    No, you cannot buy a handgun at 18. The PD will issue the person a handgun. You only solution is to have a parent buy the handgun and give it to you as a gift.

I thought I remembered reading on here that a person under 21 could legally buy from a private individual, but the transfer had to be done at the sheriff's office. Couldn't his girlfriend, or anyone else for that matter, buy the gun and then sell it to him at the sheriff's office? I am in no way endorsing any illegal activities, I am just looking for clarification.

well there is ways to obtain a handgun before your 21 legally, threw gifting or the sheriff office transfer-- although most wont do it from what i hear.

But he can't buy one just because he has an act 235, same story if your between 18-21 and an officer, but they will issue you one in that case i doubt a security company can do that.

(Philadelphia County)

Quote Originally Posted by XD45 View Post