Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Photographer looking for gun owners.

Hi, everyone. I'm a photographer starting a new portrait project involving gun owners in Philadelphia. The idea is to show a representative cross-section of gun owners; both male and female and all ages and ethnicities.
    As far as my credentials, I have a Masters degree in photography, have worked as a freelancer for about fifteen years, have contributed to several books, and written two of my own. Several of my personal projects have involved environmental portraiture in which the subject chooses the location where the shoot takes place. I envision this project running along the same lines.
    Why am I interested in doing this? For a good part of my life, I've lived in places where you can't own a gun. When I moved to Philly a few years ago and starting going to the range, I was quite surprised at the variety of folks I encountered there. Despite the fact that my (73 year-old, 4'10") mom owns a gun, I obviously had some sort of assumption of what the typical range-goer would look like. If I am able to get a good cross-section of people involved, this project would serve to challenge similar assumptions in everyone who sees it.
    This wouldn't be a paid shoot, as the project is self-funded, but I will give each participant an 8x10 print from the shoot. I would like to photograph each person in his or her home and get some basic info, (name, age, profession, type of gun owned, etc.). A model release will have to be signed, as well.
    If you have any questions, please email me at: info@dalerio.com
    Examples of my work, and a bio, can be found at www.dalerio.com, and more examples of my portrait work can be provided upon request.
    Thanks for taking the time to read this,
    Dale

(Delaware County)

Default Re: Photographer looking for gun owners.

WTF?

(Washington County)