Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lancaster County)

Default Ok help me w/ a decision!

My wife, God bless her, has given me the go ahead to purchase and AR. I, for the life of me, cannot decide to get either the CAR style with the stainless barrel, the mid-lenght with SS barrel, or the M4 lightweight.

Please add your comments either pro or con for these styles. My reckoning is that the mid-lenght is more reliabel, but I do like the look of the CAR and M4 styles. Please help

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Ok help me w/ a decision!

It all depends on what you're going to do with it.

If you have any aspirations to shoot CMP, then I'd go for a full size or at least a mid length.

For home defense or for three gun matches, I think an M4gery would be the way to go.

I have a Bushmaster EXM15 M4. It's great for action shoots where I'm not shooting long distances, but the short sight radius kills me in CMP matches. The very best I can do is about 3" at 100 yards from the prone position. Don't even ask about how I do unsupported.

I don't think the mid length is more reliable. If you get one from a good manufacturer, they should all be reliable regardless of barrel length. The difference will be in accuracy and that's due to the shorter sight radius.

If I had to do it all over again, I'd get the full size.

(Lancaster County)

Thanks Karys, I am looking for something to have fun at the range, nothing real serious as far as distance shooting. I don't see myself shooting anymore than 100 meters or yards. Home defense? Ehh maybe, I have several handguns and a Mossberg for that. I just don't know If I like the exposed portion of the barrel on the M4s and the CARs, it just kind of looks too long to me. I don't know, I do like the M4s front furniture though.

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by K9346 View Post