Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Pike County)

Default possible new handloader

possible new handloader..can anyone recommend a handloading kit ? have about 300 to spend...im a new rookie to this but am very interested ...also a kit that can be expanded ....thanks all...vic

(Cumberland County)

Default Re: possible new handloader

Both RCBS and Lee sell kits. Everything you need to get started is in the kits. And yes, you can expand on the kit. There's no reason to use only what is in the kit.

If you have a $300 budget, blow it on this kit. It has EVERYTHING you need to load anything you want.
    http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpag...599&t=11082005
    You will still need to buy the dies for your caliber(s).

You won't NEED to expand on this kit, but you will want to get a couple of reloading manuals. I like the Lyman #48. It should set you back no more than $25. It has complete step by step reloading instructions. It also contains some data you may not find published by powder or bullet manufacturers.

Midway also has some single caliber booklets. Each book is a compilation of load data from the different powder and bullet manufacturers - all for a single caliber. They're about $6 each, but well worth it.

When reloading, you can never have too much data.
    Soap Box - Worn out : Ballot Box - Broken : Jury Box - Pending : Ammunition Box - Unknown

(Pike County)

wow das ,,thats the same model i was about too pick up from midway also..looks like my best bang for the buck,,

(Berks County)

If your budget is 300 does that include the cost of powder and primers and bullets and brass if you don't have any? I just looked up the Lee Challenger kit it is 105.00 here is the link
    http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpag...081&t=11082005
    All you need is bullets and powder and primers and you old brass. Lee equipment is not bad to use I have a lot of Lee equipment. You can spend more money on bullets and primes and powder.