Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default Need Help with PA pistol laws!!

Hi all,

I own a Glock model 17 that I purchased about 5 years ago in the state of Missouri (I was a resident there at that time). I have now resided in PA for over 3 years and wish to sell the gun to my brother-in-law who resides in Louisiana. I've never sold any of the guns I own and I've always purchased new so I have never really dealt with any situation like this. Can anyone enlighten me on the process? Sorry if this is a repost and thanks for all the help!!

Brad C.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Need Help with PA pistol laws!!

Quote Originally Posted by Bradamus1 View Post
    Hi all,

I own a Glock model 17 that I purchased about 5 years ago in the state of Missouri (I was a resident there at that time). I have now resided in PA for over 3 years and wish to sell the gun to my brother-in-law who resides in Louisiana. I've never sold any of the guns I own and I've always purchased new so I have never really dealt with any situation like this. Can anyone enlighten me on the process? Sorry if this is a repost and thanks for all the help!!

Brad C.
    since you and your BIL live in different states the glock MUST be transfered through a FFL in LA. you or your BIL have to find a FFL in LA that will receive the glock from you and then transfer it to your BIL. prior to shipping the glock you'll need a copy of the receiving FFL's license. you can ship the pistol yourself via FEDEX or UPS or find a FFL in PA that will ship it for you. pretty simple process but the pistol has to be shipped overnight which gets expensive fast.

Easiest for you would be to use a PA dealer to ship the gun to an LA dealer, where your brother could then accept transfer.

Other option is for you to ship it directly to his dealer, but most carriers tend to be reluctant to accept a firearm for shipment from a non-dealer, and the USPS flat out won't do it.

I'd use a dealer in each state.