Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Default My first 1911...Citadel Compact

I picked up my Citadel 1911 Compact (3.5" barrel) yesterday. I came literally soaked in oil. You could not even touch the outside of the gun without getting a handful of oil.

The first thing I did was field strip the gun and I degreased the pistol. I then used gun grease to oil the gun. After the strip and clean the operation of the gun seamed much smoother so I took it to the range today to try it out.

Now this is my first 1911 and the only other pistol I own is a S&W M&P Shield so I am very new to the platform. This was the first time I fired this style of pistol. I am also not an accomplished shooter.

I would like to note that other reviews I read about this gun were mostly positive, especially given the price point ($519). Some of the negatives I heard was that it was very picky about ammo, especially personal defense hollow points.

I am happy to say that the pistol functioned well with both kinds of ammo I put through it today. The first rounds I used were Hornady Critical Defense 185gr. I put 14 rounds through it (too expensive to shoot a couple boxes of it). The first round I put within an inch of dead center at 15 yards. The rest of these were all about 8" from center at 15 yards.

I then switched to Federal 230gr FMJ and put 100 rounds through it with a single hiccup. I am not exactly sure what happened but maybe a more experienced person can help me figure this out. On the last round of probably my 3rd magazine (7rd capacity per mag) the final round fired but got stuck and did not extract properly. It seemed to get wedged between the slide and the top of the magazine. It was easily removed and was the last round of the magazine. I attributed this more to the break in period of the gun than anything else.