Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default How hard is it to replace the front hand guard on an AR?

I've been casually looking at ARs lately, not too seriously, but I might bite if I saw what I wanted. I'm not an AR expert by any means but I do know what I would like on one. I'd like 5.56, 1:7, flat top, no front or rear sights, and a railed hand guard. With the exception of the railed hand guard I've seen all my other criteria from several manufacturers in the $700-$800 range. I'm not too keen on my first AR being a build. I'd rather just buy for now, learn, and maybe build in the future. I've done some research and by the time I add up what I'd want I can't see building costing less than buying (with the hand guard being the unknown variable) anyway.

So my question is: Is it very difficult to replace the "regular" round hand guard on an AR with a railed one?

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: How hard is it to replace the front hand guard on an AR?

Quote Originally Posted by carrguy1 View Post
    I've been casually looking at ARs lately, not too seriously, but I might bite if I saw what I wanted. I'm not an AR expert by any means but I do know what I would like on one. I'd like 5.56, 1:7, flat top, no front or rear sights, and a railed hand guard. With the exception of the railed hand guard I've seen all my other criteria from several manufacturers in the $700-$800 range. I'm not too keen on my first AR being a build. I'd rather just buy for now, learn, and maybe build in the future. I've done some research and by the time I add up what I'd want I can't see building costing less than buying (with the hand guard being the unknown variable) anyway.

So my question is: Is it very difficult to replace the "regular" round hand guard on an AR with a railed one?