Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Default Pocono Medical Center

Does anyone know what the reason is that many of the "Hospitalist" doctors at PMC try to hard sell sending the elderly to the VNA Hospice House?
    Last edited by NEPAKevin; June 27th, 2012 at 12:49 PM.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: Pocono Medical Center

I have no inside knowledge on these two facilities but my guess would be that they are both owned/operated by the same parent company and the doctors are strongly encouraged to push the issue. Prior to becoming a stay at home mom my wife worked in the field and frequently made comments about this kind of stuff going on where she was. I wouldn't rule out the possibility of some sort of "finders fee" but that is pure speculation on my part.

(Monroe County)

How about they are all assholes... Sorry, I see PMC mentioned, thats the FIRST thought that comes to mind... Knowing those half-educated know nothings, I am inclined to agree with the finders fee idea.

(Northampton County)

.... follow the money....

Plinker
    My dog "Ruger" is worried about the economy because Alpo is up to $3.00 a can. That's almost $21.00 in dog money.

Pray for our troops....and a little extra for our snipers.

(Monroe County)

Actually very few on this board are old enough to remember when PMC was a rinkydink lousy med center. They have become a really decent place over the last 20 years. I still do all my stuff in the Lehigh Valley because of habit and where my docs are and always have been. If time was of essence I wouldn't hesitate to use PMC.

Having a couple friends that are doctors, friends and relatives that are nursed and an RN mother that has run the same doctor's office for over 33 years in the valley I can tell you the reason any would suggest a certain place is the experience with that group.