Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Question Question about CCW non-PA resident permits

I'm a resident of Arizona, but I'm a current Law Student here in PA. So I'm in PA for just over 7 months of the year - but I do have a PA non-resident permit.
    So when I'm looking at state's reciprocity laws would I be able to carry concealed in any state that has reciprocity with both AZ, and PA, or Either of the two. OR am I only entitled to carry in the different state if they have reciprocity with the state that I declare residency in (which is Arizona).

Thanks any help would be wonderful,
    -Reed

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Question about CCW non-PA resident permits

You PA license only affords you privileges in the states that PA has agreements with or if the other state honors all blanketly. Except, there are a few states that require the license bearer to be a resident of the issuing state. NH, FL, CO, MI, and WV require you to be a resident of PA to honor the PA license. Your home state of AZ requires you to have a AZ license because you are a AZ resident legally and will not honor your PA non-resident LTCF.

http://www.handgunlaw.us/maps/pennsylvania_map.gif

Notice clause [1] for AZ.
    http://www.pafoa.org/reciprocity/

[1] Arizona only honors other state's permits if the holder is not an Arizona resident.
    Last edited by knight0334; February 20th, 2008 at 07:00 PM.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

Yes I know about Arizona, that's why I took the Course there and then the Range exam and the written exam, and submitted fingerprints and an Okay for the FBI background check to the AZ DPS. Then when I came back to PA for post graduate work and school I received the non-res permit.

Thank you for the other information and the links!