Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default freshly assembled ar won't cycle

it's not the magazine, used various mags in other ar's and it worked.

the bcg wont eject the spent round which obviously won't chamber another round.

this happens when a mag is inserted and when a mag isn't inserted.

i can pus the buffer and buffer spring down no problem.

i'm a super noob, where would the best place be to start looking for the culprit?

thanks

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: freshly assembled ar won't cycle

Blocked gas tube. Remove it and look at the hole on the bottom. Try blowing some gun cleaner down it slowly while it is still in the upper before you remove it. It should trickle out the end of the muzzle. If not, there is a blockage. Fair warning, gas tubes are hard to get right now for some reason. You might want to try to clean it first before trying to search for a new one.

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by blysccr View Post
    it's not the magazine, used various mags in other ar's and it worked.

the bcg wont eject the spent round which obviously won't chamber another round.

this happens when a mag is inserted and when a mag isn't inserted.

i can pus the buffer and buffer spring down no problem.

i'm a super noob, where would the best place be to start looking for the culprit?

thanks
    you need to supply more info.

barrel length/type/composition/maker?
    BCG make?
    is the gas key staked properly?
    Gas system length?
    is the tube upside down?
    Ammunition type and maker?

did you assemble the upper yourself?

info, we need it to diagnose.
    "Oderint Dum Metuant" - BMFH

"Tact is for people not witty enough to use sarcasm"

Note: any whingeing crazy that hits my PM inbox will be deleted without reply

(Monroe County)