Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Female - Total Newbie - Completely Lost - Seeking Female Tips / Guidance

Total newbie to firearms and seeking tips and suggestions from other ladies. Right now I am drowning in bewilderment just at the plethora of types of guns, terms, rules, laws, regulations, training, and just wondering where the heck to BEGIN ??!!

We've barely scratched the surface, but so far hubby and I have decided that I might do better with Revolvers because I don't have the finger/hand/arm strength to manipulate the slide for guns with clips. He would rather me have a clip, but it seems Revolvers work best. Right now we're shopping for guns to find a good hand-fit/grip. I normally wear dresses, so I purchased a conceal-carry leather purse instead of a holster.

So, as you can see, I'm at the VERY VERY beginning and am anxious to learn more from ALL experts, but especially from other ladies who started from scratch like me. :-)

Thanks so much for ANY suggestions, tips, guidance, or advice. Personal experiences also very welcomed !! :-)

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Female - Total Newbie - Completely Lost - Seeking Female Tips / Guidance

Welcome! I just started carrying (and shooting, actually) this year! I wear a lot of skirts as well, so I have a conceal carry handbag as well as I've been experimenting with belt holsters to find one that is comfortable, since there are many times I won't be able to keep my handbag on my person at all times (in which case I won't carry it, if it can't be on me in public.) The SmartCarry holster works nicely under a skirt too, for a deep conceal, although its a little more awkward to access, its VERY concealable.