Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Newbie with question about carry across State Lines

I apologize if this question has been addressed multiple times, but I'm not sure where to look for threads on this topic. I am a female newbie to firearms and am completely bewildered by the plethora of information, terms, and details about gun ownership, rules, laws, etc. So I'm starting at the VERY VERY beginning !! :-/

My question is about conceal carry across state lines. I understand that VA and WVA recognize permits from PA, but not MD. (Correct?) I often travel to VA and have to hit a small portion of MD on Highway 81 South. How do you handle carrying through states that do not recognize our PA permits? Do we first check to see if they have OPEN-CARRY laws and then make sure the firearm and ammunition are separate from each other in the car in the event of interaction with law enforcement? And, if stopped by law enforcement in a state that does not accept our PA permits, what do you say and how do you handle it?

Thanks so much for any information and your patience with my bewilderment. There are SO many laws, regulations, and difficulties faced even by the most law-abiding citizens, that it is very unnerving and I want to make sure I follow the laws (fair or not - another topic *wink*).

(Chester County)

Default Re: Newbie with question about carry across State Lines

Having MADE that trip, it's simple.

You pull over before leaving the Commonwealth of PA. Secure your firearm(s) as per FOPA safe-transport rules, proceed through the People's Republic of Maryland without making unnecessary stops, then once you cross the border into the Commonwealth of VA, you reverse the process.
    FOAC Volunteer. NREMT-P. NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun Instructor & RSO. BSA Rangemaster. Act 235.
    Selling: Remington R1 1911

(Northampton County)