Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Brand new firearm owner, seeking advice or tips.

Hello all,

First let me thank you for taking the time to at least read my post. I'm not a gun fanatic, this will more then likely be the only firearm I purchase; I got it for a reason, personal, family and home protection. And I certainly don't want to be an untrained carrier of a fire arm, I will pursue a carry permit once I've mastered the weapon and have been properly educated.

A background about myself; I'm a professional photographer that likes to shoot (photograph, we use the same lingo) alone and at night and lately I've been kept from doing what I should be able to do thanks totally to the increasing violence in the Philly. Photography equipment isn't cheap, not by a long stretch, some lenses alone are at much as two AR15s just to give you an idea. The Walther P99 AS .40 S&W is the model I chose to go with, absolutely love it but there's many form posts about that.

It's a double action trigger, first pull is long and stiff, the next trigger reset is much less resistance and half cocked. The problem I'm having is with the first pull, despite how I grip the gun it always seems to pull to the right and be a bit low. Obviously I didn't take any training yet, I'm still getting used to having a firearm; it's an intimidating thing to have and I do follow the 4 rules of fire arm safety. I do a lot of dry fire practice with snap caps and the loaded magazine locked up in the guns safe, the weapon is always cleared before proceeding and always pointed toward a concrete wall that's underground. When I get my sight alignment and pull the DA trigger set, I distinctly notice the front sight torque to the right. And that's my problem.