Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Moving To Denver, Need Advice On Transporting Guns There

I am moving to Denver, CO next month with my girlfriend. We are planning on driving from Pittsburgh to Denver over the course of 2 days with one overnight stay in a hotel along the way. We will be passing through the following states on our way to Denver:

Ohio
    Indiana
    Illinois
    Missouri
    Kansas

We are also bringing all of our guns and ammo with us to Denver. If all of our firearms are unloaded and in separate containers from our ammo, are we good to go? Or do the firearms need to be in a locked container, and the ammo in another locked container? I am a total newbie to the transportation of firearms outside of PA so I want to make sure I am in the clear.

Thanks in advance!

(Centre County)

Default Re: Moving To Denver, Need Advice On Transporting Guns There

If you are moving to a new residence then you are covered under federal law. As long as the guns are unloaded you will be fine. In this case (moving to a new place) you can make overnight stops and not be in violation of any law. The only thing you will want to insure is that all of your firearms are legal in CO.
    Ron USAF Ret E-8 FFL01/SOT3 NRA Benefactor Member

(Allegheny County)

I frequently drive from Pittsburgh to the Western Slope. I had all my guns with me in December. I seem to recall my friends telling me not to stop in Denver cause I had the AR-15 with me and I'm thinking they are not legal in Denver?

Oh and driving through Columbia Missouri, you may want to stop cause there are some gun stores and an Army surplus store. I've always wanted to stop but never time it right.

The link for Black Rifle LLC http://blackriflellc.com/

and the link for Army surpus store http://armygear.net/
    Last edited by glock19girl; April 16th, 2012 at 08:45 AM.
    I dislike the diamond commercials, give me something useful like guns, ammo or cookware.