Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default It's time to allow concealed carry on campus. I need your help guys.

Things are really getting bad on college campuses in this country. With the shooting yesterday in Illinois, these mass killings are happening WAY too often for comfort, especially for a college student such as myself. With current policies that most colleges have in place not allowing guns on campus, just what the hell am I supposed to do if a gunman opens fire in my classroom? Hide under my desk? Please. I'd much rather have a fighting chance at defending myself and my classmates, but these college administrators still somehow think that labeling the campus a "gun free zone" is going to prevent acts of violence, while the tragedies at VT and now the one in Illinois CLEARLY demonstrate that this is false thinking.

Anyway, to my point. As I said, I am a current college student with a valid PA LTCF and I want to be able to carry on campus to defend myself. Besides the threat of a gunman inside the school, I attend classes at night in a not-so-friendly neighborhood, so being able to protect myself during the walk to and from my vehicle would be nice as well. I plan on contacting the appropriate people in my school's administration to get the ball rolling on this issue at my campus. I've joined Students for Concealed Carry on Campus, and submitted an application to be the campus leader for my school. My question is this. Who exactly should I contact? The school President, the Dean of Students, both? What would be your approach. Over the next couple of days I plan on drafting a letter bringing attention to the issue of allowing CCW on campus, and I would be glad to post it here to allow my fellow PAFOA members to help me fine-tune it.

Thanks everyone.
    Dave

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: It's time to allow concealed carry on campus. I need your help guys.