Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Centre County)

Default Question on concealed carry.

If a car is stopped, say in Ohio where notifying the officer you are carrying is required does it apply to everyone in the car or just the driver? Does an officer disarm the driver before going any further & how would that work out with six armed individuals, would the officer call backup? Maybe this is a silly question.

(Chester County)

Default Re: Question on concealed carry.

Wow, that's a good question. It is my understanding that the LEO's interactions are with the driver unless specifically addressing the passenger, but I can see where he would want to know if a passenger was carrying. We are not obligated to inform in PA so I never thought about it. I guess it would take reading the OH laws.

(Montgomery County)

Read the OH 'must inform' statute. As for if the drivers is disarmed that would probably depend on department specific procedure.

I'm not a lawyer or a superhero and this is not legal advice.

That's a very good question and a right answer is much appreciated.

(Monroe County)

Given time one of our members who can carry in OH will most likely chime in and give their answer. Until then, look up the OH laws regarding duty to inform.

(Centre County)

I just reviewed the Ohio Informed Law and it states the driver or occupant so it is not just the driver. It also pertains to any employee of a motor carrier enforcement bureau and that would be a weight station or inspection stop for tractor trailers. Further reaching than I envisioned. If I was an officer checking a car with a number of armed passengers I would be concerned disarming them without a number of officers present. That is why I am not police officer material.
    Last edited by Silentwind; April 6th, 2012 at 02:36 PM.

(Adams County)

Quote Originally Posted by Silentwind View Post