Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: sights

(Lehigh County)

Default sights

Since im still new at all this was wondering if someone can tell me what im doing wrong...i thought when looking down your sites you want the tops of the front and rear sights to line up....when i shoot that way, I consistantly shoot low (shooting a sig P229) attached is a sketch of how i have to site in to shoot where im aiming (its appoximate dwg)....any help is appreciated and hope this makes sense

(Chester County)

Default Re: sights

Alot of pistols have a dot on the front sight. You cover your target with the dot while lining up the tops of the rear and front sights.

My Taurus 24/7 Pro has the Heine "Straight Eights" sights. I kept shooting low because I has holding my target over the front sight rather than covering the target with the dot.

I hope that made sense.
    Μολὼν λάβε

(Lehigh County)

makes sense and I am pretty sure that is what i was doing but was shooting low...a friend of mine was shooting it too and he was also shooting low...

(Lawrence County)

The top of the rear sight should line up with the top of the front sight.

You can adjust the sights so the bullet impacts just over the front sight blade. (6 O'clock hold).....or you can set the sights so the impact is on the dot. The first option tends to be more precise and gives a better field of view.

If the sights are not adjustable, you can file the front sight down a bit or get a shorter front sight.

Lycandidyoushootitfromsandbags?thrope

I taught Chuck Norris to bump-fire.

(Chester County)

The Sigs will shoot with a 12 o'clock hold.

That means if you want to shoot in the center of a circle (bullseye) the TOP EDGE of the front and rear sights should be going right across the circle at it's widest point.

The dot is just there to aid in your ability to find the sight....hence, why TARGET SIGHTS, are plain black...where all you have to look at is sharp edges.