Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Cambria County)

Default Carrying out of state

Anyone know what the law is having a Pa. license to carry permit and taking a handgun into Maryland. I dont want to carry concealed In Maryland but what is the law as far as having the gun in the car?
    I was reading in the forum about getting a license to carry in Maryland and most said dont waste your time or money cause it's almost impossible to get one.

Default Re: Carrying out of state

Don't do it. Don't even think of taking a gun into Maryland unless you're traveling directly through it in accordance with the FOPA.
    I am not a lawyer and nothing I say should be construed as legal advice.

(Allegheny County)

i used to live in Maryland. you can take your gun into the state you just cant drive around with it. much like pa. ianal

(York County)

Maryland Criminal Law Section 4-203

Article - Criminal Law § 4-203.

(a) (1) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, a person may not:

(i) wear, carry, or transport a handgun, whether concealed or open, on or about the person;

(ii) wear, carry, or knowingly transport a handgun, whether concealed or open, in a vehicle traveling on a road or parking lot generally used by the public, highway, waterway, or airway of the State;

(iii) violate item (i) or (ii) of this paragraph while on public school property in the State; or

(iv) violate item (i) or (ii) of this paragraph with the deliberate purpose of injuring or killing another person.

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that a person who transports a handgun under paragraph (1)(ii) of this subsection transports the handgun knowingly.

(b) This section does not prohibit: