Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Leftie new to handguns

Hello all, I'm new to handguns and would like to purchase one.

I am a natural leftie. While looking through the various manufacturers, it seems that most handguns are geared towards rigth handed people, It seems that the saftey on most guns would be difficult for a left handed person to operate. Is this a big deal or am I putting too much thought into it?

I see that the Stoeger cougar has an ambidextrous saftey. Is this a quality handgun to purchase?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much.

Default Re: Leftie new to handguns

Look at the Smith & Wesson M&P. Very lefty friendly.

(Blair County)

The standard setup is geared towards right-handers, but plenty of manufacturers make models which will suit you no matter your preference.

Glock (Gen 4)-- all models feature a magazine release which can be swapped to either side.
    Springfield-- The XD and XDm lines feature ambi magazine releases.
    Smith&Wesson-- The M&P series come with ambi safeties and magazine releases, but the safety is optional.
    Ruger-- The SR series have ambi safeties and mag releases.

There are many others, TC. You should have no trouble finding something to suit your needs.

(Cumberland County)

Wink Re: Leftie new to handguns

i am a lefty as well and have been using glocks for decades. i use my trigger finger to work the mag release and if necessary the the slide stop as well. other left friendly ones to check out are the bersa line and the fnh line of guns, my favorite has to be the fn p in 45 everything is ambi on this gun and man does it shoot. good luck shopping there are more choices than you may think. red dog

(Allegheny County)