Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Anyone have a good training tip for a 12 week old Yellow lab. (hunting waterfowl)

Hello everyone! You guys on here have helped me with most every question I have had with guns, permits, shooting, ranges, ect..... Thanks, I am truely greatful!
    So, I got my self a yellow lab at 9 weeks old, Daisy-Mae is her name and I do hope to hunt her for ducks and geese in feilds and more so, on the water.This is my first time training a dog. I have watched several youtube videos from Duck Unlimited and from various trainers. Purchased a few good videos, Read from more online sites then Id like to mention, but still, this is my first time training. She is 12 weeks today I believe she has been traing very well.
    Completley house broken now and has learnd "sit", "stay", "come", ( stay is still alittle tricky, she will "stay" untill I back up about 20 feet, then gets up. I think she gets lonely!) She is retreiving very well. I will through a stick or toy out 30-40 feet and she will go after it, and bring it back to me( though she doesnt always let go every time, i figure its because she is young, and is still learning) In hopes of keeping her from being gun shy, I have been clapping 36 inch 2x4's together while she eats from time to time or while playing. She is not afraid of the loud clapping sound from the wood smacking together, She doesnt jump at the sound, and for the most part, she doesnt seem to notice, or care. I walk her from 8:00-9:30am every morning along the creek or delaware river, and again from 6:00 - 7:15 pm. Rarely will we walk the same woods twice, and try to stay off any trails so she will expreince as many hunting type areas as possiable and have fun in them each morning. She is very playful along the water, hasnt actually done any swimming yet, but has gone in up to her chest every day and seems to be having a blast.