Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Question about Mossberg 500

Hello,

I have a Mossberg 500 20 GA Field/Deer combo. The rifled bore has an attached scope which is great for what it is. I've also gotten very accurate with the smooth bore at 50 yds. My question is: the smooth bore has those bead type sights on it. I was wondering if it is possible to get an open sight for it or do I have the wrong barrel for that. I'm new to this whole thing and not really sure what can and cant be done to certain guns.

Thanks
    Tj

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Question about Mossberg 500

You can get a front+rear sight combo for it. It may require having your barrel drilled and tapped for screws though. ....However, it may be cheaper to just buy a "smoothbore slug barrel" which usually comes with sights already. Gunsmithing and material costs may exceed the cost of a new barrel w/sights outright.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Berks County)

I believe you can get replacement barrels for little money with sights attached.
    Check here: www.gunpartscorp.com for the Mossberg section-they used to sell a lot of different barrels for these guns.

FWIW, I have owned several Mossbergs over the years and they have proven very reliable and rugged guns.

mark
    Another armed Liberal veteran.

(Westmoreland County)

If you want an open-sight barrel to shoot slugs out of, you should buy the fully rifled barrel with the sights.

Midway has it for $150.00

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpag...743&t=11082005
    VEGETARIAN: Native American word meaning "bad hunter"

(Montgomery County)