Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Inherited Guns

(Montgomery County)

Default Inherited Guns

My husband and I recently inherited 2 hand guns and an AR-15 from a relative who passed away. The guns were not listed as part of the estate but were given to us by his grandfather who was the executor of will. The guns were found in the house during the clean out. Everything was left to his grandfather.

Are there any legal actions we need to take?

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Inherited Guns

What is your relation to the deceased or the executer? Was the executor your husbands Grandfather?

(Montgomery County)

The deceased is a cousin of my husband's grandfather. My husband's grandfather was the executor of the will. Also, all of this took place in PA.

(Monroe County)

I'm not a lawyer but since your husbands grandfather gifted them to to him there is nothing to do.
    An exchange between grandfathers and grandsons doesn't require a transfer. There is a lawyer on this site and I'm guessing he will post here eventually.

(Chester County)

Quote Originally Posted by Sprocket88 View Post
    My husband and I recently inherited 2 hand guns and an AR-15 from a relative who passed away. The guns were not listed as part of the estate but were given to us by his grandfather who was the executor of will. The guns were found in the house during the clean out. Everything was left to his grandfather.

Are there any legal actions we need to take?
    If I interpret your statement correctly your husband's grandfather is the beneficiary of the firearm. If correct then he did not transfer them to you in his capacity of executor but as a personal gift in his own right. He inherited them and subsequently gifted them to you and your husband.