Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Trasporting from MD to PA

Hello, I've been reading the forums for a while now, and decided to register so I can join the discussions!

Anyway, heres my question. I couldn't find an answer to this.

I'm a resident of Maryland(damn communists). My wife and I own a Ruger P95.
    We can't wait to buy a house in the beautiful state of PA! I am currently in the process of applying for a Florida ccw permit. I am doing this, because Florida doesn't require that you currently hold a ccw from a different state to qualify for their ccw. And PA honors the Florida ccw. I do a lot of camping and hiking in PA, and I'd like to start taking my dog on solo camping trips, and I'd feel a lot safer if I had some protection. You never know what kind of crazies you might run into. Or raccoons. haha.

Anyway, since Maryland is so bent up on their handgun laws, I'm almost afraid to even put my gun in the car to go anywhere. It makes me nervous.

If and when I receive my Florida ccw permit, will it be lawful for me to put my gun in its case, unloaded and in the trunk, and ammo in a seperate container in the back seat, and transport it into PA, where I would be able to carry it concealed? MD laws are so weird, and I'm pretty sure that unless you're a dealer, you can only transport a handgun from your home to a new place of residence, a gun smith, or a gun range. I can't find anything about transporting it to a different state where you can lawfully carry it concealed.

Any input on this would be greatly appreciated, and I apologize if this question has already been answered. Thanks a lot!

(York County)

Default Re: Trasporting from MD to PA

As PA honors a Florida license/permit you are legal once you get to PA. You may transport your firearm any way you wish in PA, in the trunk, on your hip, loaded or unloaded.

Two things to watch out for: