Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Temporarily Leaning Gun on Vehicles...

I've joined PAFOA in hopes of learning about the state statues regarding the leaning of UNloaded firearms against a vehicle...

I'm a hunter and small business owner. I developed a little device designed to safely hold an Unloaded firearm against your vehicle or other metal surface.
    It's called the Magnet Gun Caddy. I understand and agree that firearm should be placed in a case when not in use, however practically speaking there are times - especially when doing things like upland game hunting... coming back from the field with you hands full...you need a place to temporarily set your gun while you dig for your keys to open your vehicle to get your gun case...

I have run across a couple states where people have stated that it's illegal to lean a gun against a vehicle - but it's turned out they were misinformed. It's always turned out that it's legal as long as it's unloaded.

I'm looking for the statues regarding this in PA. Anyone available to help me with this?

Kaz
    Last edited by JayBell; March 8th, 2012 at 01:45 PM. Reason: if you want tom post an ad, use the commercial ad forum. URL removed.

Default Re: Temporarily Leaning Gun on Vehicles...

Quote Originally Posted by GunLawyer001 View Post
    . . .
    Title 34 Pa.C.S.A. Game
    § 2503. Loaded firearms in vehicles

(a) General rule.--Except as otherwise provided in this title, it is unlawful for any person to have a firearm of any kind in or on or against any conveyance propelled by mechanical power or its attachments at any time whether or not the vehicle or its attachment is in motion unless the firearm is unloaded.

(b) Exceptions.--This section shall not be construed to apply to:

(1) A police officer engaged in the performance of his official duty.

(2) A commission officer engaged in the performance of his duty.