Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lawrence County)

Default 1911 upgrades for para gi expert

So, I'm finally getting around to upgrading parts to my para gi expert 1911. I've sat on this gun for a better part of two years with the intention of customizing it. I'm taking the gun down in a couple weeks to duracoat the finish(paras finish is nothing short of awful) I figured while I have it down, I may as well start installing new bits and pieces and I'm looking to you guys for suggestions on what to buy(or not buy)

Looking to change out the trigger, grip safety, mainspring housing, hammer, extended slide stop, and a extended safety.

Yikes, I probably should have just bought something with all this stuff stock! But, I wanted to make a 1911 a labor of love and intend to do this all myself. Now, I've never done any of this kind of work before but I figured whats the worse that can happen? I'll have a dead gun in a shoe box. lol

(Lawrence County)

Default Re: 1911 upgrades for para gi expert

Hold off on the refinish before you install the parts. Some beavertail safeties require cutting the frame.

Everything you listed is relatively easy save for the grip safety, but that's not bad with a jig from Brownells and matching safety. I'd get a Wilson or Brown.

I'd get a whole trigger group from Brazos Custom.

Wilson or Brown thumb safety.

I like the SVI triggers with removeable inserts, but any well fitted trigger should be fine.

Lycanselftaughtaswellthrope

I taught Chuck Norris to bump-fire.

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by Bturna View Post