Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default Review: NRA Basic Pistol @ NCCSC with Paul & Dean Barr

I attended the NRA Basic Pistol Class yesterday that was taught by Paul and Dean Barr at Northern Chester County Sportsman's Club. Let me start by saying that I am new to pistol shooting (mostly a shotgun guy) and now fully have the confidence to go and rent (every single thing at targetmaster) before purchasing my first handgun.

Some things about the class:
    1. Their real world experience clearly showed by going well beyond the book when teaching certain parts of the class.
    2. There were many different confidence levels in the class, some people fully admitting that they fear firearms. They took the time and had the understanding to ensure that everyone felt 100% confident by the end of the class.
    3. The price for the class ($125) was lower than some, but by them providing ALL weapons and ALL ammunition along with a full Wegmans lunch and snacks, goes well beyond what I have seen any of the other courses come close too. Basically, the deal was more than excellent
    4. The knew every person by name 5 minutes in, called everyone by name and treated everyone with absolute respect and professionalism.
    5. They kept the course moving through the day very well and really hammered home the important parts so that we were all the SAFEST gun handlers I can imagine.
    6. Time was managed very well, the course started and ended exactly on time, yet never felt rushed.

In summary, it was VERY well done. If you want to take what I believe to be one of the best Basic Pistol classes out there, want to learn from two ex-marines that bring a wealth of knowledge to the classroom, and get the most bang from your buck. Go with these guys.