Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Looking for suggestions

I'm sure this has been covered countless times and I'm sorry if I am repeating something.

I'm new to firearms in general. By new I mean... maybe a month lol. I bought a Mossberg 500 20 GA Field/Deer combo because .. well I have always been interested in shooting and now my boss and owner of the company I work for want me to get involved in hunting as well. I bought the shotgun because around where I live you are only allowed to hunt with a shotgun.

My question is... I would like to get a rifle to use "up state" but I know nothing as far as what is good and what I should look for etc. My family has a house in Monroe county bordering SGL 127 and a few guys from work head up further north (I forget the town) close to the PA/NY border for deer. I guess what I would like to know is what would you guys suggest for a beginner. I really do not want to spend a lot on this either. While browsing Cabela's and Dick's I've seen some sub $200 guns but I don't know if they are any good or not.

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks
    Tj

(Chester County)

Default Re: Looking for suggestions

Hunting deer in PA woods?

You can get a nice lever action .30-.30 that will do JUST fine. A nice marlin 336 is a great rifle - henry and winchester also still in the market - but I think winchester has moved production off-shore, and henry isn't the same Henry that made rifles 100 years ago - just the same name. from what I have heard, tho, the imperato family that runs henry now are excellent with customer service.

Or you can get a .308 that is a bit overkill, but can be used for more. Savage model 10, Ruger 77, Remintton 70/700 series rifles all come to mind here..

Just remember - no semi-auto hunting in PA. Take a hunting course. if you have questions about specific rifles, ask away - someone will have an opinion.

(Montgomery County)