Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default need help troubleshooting a feeding issue

I ran into a feeding issue with a batch of reloads and need help diagnosing the possible cause. I am reloading 9mm with Roger's Better Bullets 115gr cast round nose. OAL=1.125 gun: 1911 9mm.

The magazine is being loaded to capacity, and the first 2-3 rounds in this batch failed to load completely into the chamber. I had to apply a decent amount of force to rack the slide back and eject the unfired, stuck round. The rounds each had this groove scored into the lead. Any ideas what might be causing this problem? Is the OAL too long/short?

An extra detail: When I loaded the magazines with only 6 rounds rather than the full 9 rounds, I only had one stuck round out of the 50 or so that I shot.

I'm new to this reloading stuff, so any direction would be appreciated! Sorry for the grainy cell pics.

(Lawrence County)

Default Re: need help troubleshooting a feeding issue

Looks like the round is too long, and hitting the side while feeding. If you had a rifling mark I'd say it was hitting lands instead of headspacing on the casemouth. Hodgdon's site recomends 1.10" as OAL for your lead round nose, double check your powder charge and reduce if required...
    For those who've never fought for it, the price of freedom shall never be known.

(Mercer County)

Quote Originally Posted by 2Late45 View Post
    Looks like the round is too long, and hitting the side while feeding. If you had a rifling mark I'd say it was hitting lands instead of headspacing on the casemouth. Hodgdon's site recomends 1.10" as OAL for your lead round nose, double check your powder charge and reduce if required...