Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Tresspassing While Carrying

I am a photographer and occasionally go on adventures to explore and take photos of abandoned places. My question is if someone is legally carrying and is caught trespassing does that make the charge more serious than a fine in PA? I know it differs from State to State.

Please not lectures about trespassing.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Tresspassing While Carrying

Quote Originally Posted by GRfoto View Post
    I am a photographer and occasionally go on adventures to explore and take photos of abandoned places. My question is if someone is legally carrying and is caught trespassing does that make the charge more serious than a fine in PA? I know it differs from State to State.

My best advice, call a lawyer.

My far from best, non lawyer, non legal comment (not advice), based off my personal research is.

There is no additional charge beyond trespassing.

Even ignoring a no-guns sign is only considered trespassing.

Most of the talk around here is about places open to the public that have a sign or don't have a sign but are then asked to leave upon discovered being armed.

My understanding is that its more severe if someone "gains entry by subterfuge" this Criminal Trespass and is a felony vs. ignoring some sign at a public place that is a misdemeanor or summary offense depending on if you leave or not.

Link to the relevant text.
    http://law.onecle.com/pennsylvania/c...5.003.000.html
    Last edited by QuackXP; February 15th, 2012 at 03:06 PM.

(Mercer County)

If your not OC, no one should ever know your carrying in the first place. Unless you are being detained and searched.

(Jefferson County)

The only thing I can find that may come close is Title 18, Chapter 9, Subsection 907. But that requires intent to employ it criminally.

§ 907. Possessing instruments of crime