Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default Light Primer Strikes ??

Question on a couple of my reloads. I've only jinned up a couple hundred .45 ACP so far on a Lee Loader manual kit, so I'm no expert yet. Here's the deal:

Had two rounds didn't go off on the first trigger pull. Did about three more pulls (PT145 - striker fired) with no luck on either round. I reloaded both rounds into the middle of another mag and figured I'd do some failure drills, but this time both rounds went off on their first trip into the chamber.

So, was it something I did when I primed these two cases? Or some other weirdness? Or what?

Thanks.

Blessed are they who, faced with danger, think only of the front sight. -- Jeff Cooper

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Light Primer Strikes ??

Are you using CCI primers?

Also, if it happens again. Check to see if the primer is seated in further than the others. Did you see the indent on the primer from the striker when it didn't fire?

Friends won't use CCI primers because they are a "harder" primer and they get light strikes often. I've only noticed it when I intentionally let my gun get dirty trying to see how long i could go before problems.
    The problem with shooting Chinese bullets is 15 minutes later you wanna shoot again.

(Beaver County)

Actually some other wierdness. Depending on whose primers you use that can happen. Everyone will tell you that different manufactures have a different hardness of primer cup. If I remember Rem and CCI are the hardest. You may find better results in your/that gun with a different primer. This mostly happens to people that have trigger jobs and lighter trigger springs. I'm sure if you do some searching you'll find a hardness list or someone will chime in with it. I personally use CCI exclusively in my current loads but have also used Rem and Win with good luck. CCI are just easier for me to buy. I would never use Wolf.