Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default First Carry Pistol

I have my LTCF, and am interested in carrying on a semi-regular basis, once I take some classes. I am also interested in getting more into matches like 3-gun, etc.... which I would need a .45 to compete with.

Money is an object, and if possible, I'd like to kill two birds with one stone and get a carry piece, and a *useable* match gun in one go.

I won't be carrying 24/7...yet, just when not at my office/day job. I also won't be shooting in and super-serious matches either. I'm no expert shot, so a super-duper trigger job and polished do-hickey would be money wasted at this point. I just want something I can carry and have fun with when I'm not carrying.

I've looked at Springfield XDs, Taurus PT-247 and Rock Island Arms 1911's, but can't make the choice.

I would like your advice on what piece I should purchase and if I'm asking the impossible and would be better off with two guns.

If I should just buy two guns, can you reccomend both a carry piece, and a match gun?

I have checked out the LC9 and PF-9 from Ruger and Kel-Tec respectively, but they seem so small! I'm a rather large guy at 6'1" and 240 lbs, so I feel like I could conceal something a little larger, or with a little more capactiy.

(Clarion County)

Default Re: First Carry Pistol

Glock G-30,smallish and acurate.

The End of Josiah's Railroad, Pennsylvania
    (Luzerne County)

I have an XD Service in .357 Sig. It is quite concealable and I can keep 50 rounds in a group the size of my fist at 25 yards. I consider myself a good shooter and my USMC qualifications say that as well.