Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default New to PFOA. I think I was unjustly denied my CCW in Philly. Appeal in Feb. Thoughts?

Back story

I applied for my CCW in Sept 2011, in Oct or Nov I received a letter stating I was denied. (I'm posting this from work, so I don't have it readily available to post along with the other images atthe moment, but when I get home I'll edit with an update.)

I was denied on the following criteria "Applicant is an individual whose character and reputation is such that the individual would be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety", "Applicant was untruthful or not forthcoming about criminal history" and "Applicant is denied due to good cause".

I was absolutely blown away by this. As far as I knew, I did not have a criminal record. I'm a Paramedic, I work with narcotics, so I was subject to a stringent background check before school and also before employment.

However, I was arrested for a fist-fight when I was 16 in highschool. I received a differed adjudication and upon completing a 90 day grace period, my case was dismissed and my record expunged when I turned 18.

Attached to this post is are 2 screen caps of the PA Public Record Criminal Docket look up. One when I searched only by my name and another where searched by name and date of birth. I found something very interesting. Apparently, there is a person with the same First and Last name, and was born on the same day and in the same month as me, but a different year. This guy has a prior sheet going back to the 70's littered with B&E's, weapons and Agg. Assault charges. When I searched my name and birthdate, the search reported no records found.

Just wondering if you guys think I have a leg to stand on?

Link to the aforementioned screen caps. http://imgur.com/a/vCTrr