Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Clarion County)

Default Reloading without space?

I'm a college student and a parent of a 4 year old. I live is a small townhouse like apartment and literally do not have space to put a reloading setup. My daughter having room to be a kid takes priority, because that's what kids need.

I would like to get into 300 BLK, but really need to reload if I want to shoot it at all. Is it possible to reload without taking up space outside of a medium sized tote box? Something I could put in a closet and only take out when it's time to work.

I have seen the Lee loader hand set, but that's only available in limited calibers, no 300 BLK yet.

I'm open to ideas as well as proven setups.

Thanks for any help.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Reloading without space?

Even though I reload in a dedicated area in my basement I use a method of mounting my presses that could be applied to many tables. Take a piece of 1 inch MDF about a foot wide and from one side of the bench (or table) to the other. I take another 1 inch thick piece about a foot long and use it to double the total thickness on the end with the press. Countersink the screws mounting the press and use C clamps to hold it on the table.

I have a Lee hand press and it's not fun to use for case sizing. I only use it to deprime cases prior to polishing.

The End of Josiah's Railroad, Pennsylvania
    (Luzerne County)

I had a Rockchucker Supreme bolted to a 2x8x18 piece of oak. I used two wood clamps to hold it to my table and it worked out decent.

(Delaware County)

I have a shot shell reloader, I'm guessing it would take more space than your 300 BLk. I mounted the reloading unit to a hunk of plywood and then clamped that to a TV dinner table. It doesn't take much room at all, plus it's portable.

(Luzerne County)

Let us hope for the best, but let us also prepare for the worst.

Midway

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/155...eloading-stand