Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Is this normal

(Lehigh County)

Default Is this normal

I'm new to reloading very new. I started out only reloading 6 9mm to test at the range. Berry's 115 gr plated RN .556",Winchester 231 at 4.3 grs.AOL at 1.1450 to 1.1500,cci#500 primer,mixed brass. I used my SA 9mm SC 3" the thing is the recoil was twice that of factory rounds is this normal.

(Susquehanna County)

Default Re: Is this normal

I don't see anything wrong with your powder charge weight. But the reference I'm looking at right now shows you're loading a little long. COAL is shown as 1.100" for a 115 gr. Lead Round Nose.

Plated bullets should use about the same load data as cast lead so your 4.3 grs of W231 is about right for a starting load.

Double check by going to Hodgdon powder's website and check into their reloading data.

Can't account for your perceived increase in recoil. I suggest you double check your powder weights at your next loading session.

If you are using a "balance beam" scale, recheck your scale setting and be sure the poises are set properly, check to make sure it is set level also. Set the scale in place and with only the pan in place and the poises set at zero make sure the scale reads zero. Use the adjusting foot to make corrections.

If you're using a digital scale, follow the directions and go through the calibration routine, double check to make sure you are reading grains not grams. Make sure your scale zeros when the pan is in place.

"Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities".

(Lehigh County)

Well i found out my digital scale was a POS and way off so i picked up a RCBS 502 and what a difference. I'll never try to cut corners buying cheap again. By the way don't ever buy a smartreloader scale from cabelas.

(Susquehanna County)

Perhaps you should spell out some of the details.