Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 1911 help

(Cumberland County)

Default 1911 help

I have just purchased a new Kahr CM9 for my new concealed carry handgun, replacing my Ruger LCP. I have a Glock 19 and Smith and Wesson M & P 15for my home defense weapons. I recently commented to friends that i am now done buying firearms, and all stated that "you're never done buying firearms". They are right. I have been looking now at getting a 1911. For no rational reason other than they are cool and I want one. It is not for carry, just to have fun with. I am considering the Kimber Compact Stainless 2,but I am eager to hear from anyone out there who has a Kimber or any other 1911 for that matter. I am a Noob when it comes to 1911's so any and all advice is welcomed.

(Centre County)

Default Re: 1911 help

If you want one "just to have fun with", why do you want to spend that kind of money. You can get a 1911 to have fun with for under $500. The RIA Tactical comes with most of the bells and whistles people want, shoots great, and RIA has a great customer service if something were to go wrong (go to http://forum.m1911.org/forumdisplay.php?f=17) to see what a lot of people say about the RIA. Just sayin.

Here's one of my RIA's (Tactical Model, Cerakoted, Hogue grips, beveled mag well adapter, switched from the ambi safety to a single safety)

Last edited by Xringshooter; January 5th, 2012 at 02:05 PM.
    Ron USAF Ret E-8 FFL01/SOT3 NRA Benefactor Member

(Cumberland County)

that is a sweet looking gun, I have watched some youtube videos on RIA's. They are well-reviewed....Thanks I will look into them. Money isn't the issue, but i dont need to spend an arm and a leg, and with the money I save maybe I can buy another gun. Ha. Thanks for the reply.

(Berks County)