Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Default Part time resident

Hello all & Merry Christmas. I have a house in Tannersville (3 yrs now) that I am at every weekend & any free time in between. I am a NY resident & want to be able to purchase fireams for use in PA. How do I accomplish this? Switching residency is not an option yet.

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Part time resident

Quote Originally Posted by Divodave View Post
    Hello all & Merry Christmas. I have a house in Tannersville (3 yrs now) that I am at every weekend & any free time in between. I am a NY resident & want to be able to purchase fireams for use in PA. How do I accomplish this? Switching residency is not an option yet.
    Dave you dont have to switch residency just yet if you dont want to, you just have to switch driver's license, get your PA. drivers license and you are set.

As a Pa. property owner you are a pa resident owning a home and all.

Go down to the DMV. in Snydersville and get your Pa drivers license, bring some utility bills in your name and your social security card , the actual card not just the number, get your DL then you can buy any gun anywhere in PA.
    after that apply for for LTCF at the Sherrifs office in Stroudsburg as a 3 year resident you are more than qualify for your LTCF. But you DO NOT need a LCTF to buy guns just your DL, after you get your DL license and insure your car in PA and save thousands of dollars off your car insurance.

(Philadelphia County)

Welcome to the forum. If you must retain your principle place of residency in NY due to working for a Government Agency, the below link will not help. However if you desire to establish PA as your principle residence/domicile, here is a legal guide: Click Here!
    NRA Certified Instructor Pistol & Shotgun

(Chester County)

(Monroe County)

Thanks so much for the great advice. I will check out all your suggestions.