Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Default Looking to buy a gun - need purchase and training suggestions

For only home protection, I'm considering buying a gun and need advice on what kind of a gun to purchase, where to purchase, general cost of a gun, and where I can get free or low cost gun safety training. Help!

I live in the Lancaster County area. Any thoughts?

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Looking to buy a gun - need purchase and training suggestions

I'm not an expert, but for home protection a shotgun is commonly a very good choice. I'll leave the details to those more experienced than I am.

(Berks County)

There is a lot of good into for first time gun buyers in this thread >>

http://forum.pafoa.org/pistols-41/15...r-opinion.html

Check out what they said. Ps some guns can range from $60 to $2500 or even more, so theres a lot of research to be done. Doing a class with an NRA instructor for safety and learning the functions of pistols (semi auto vs revolver) BEFORE you buy your gun would be the best Idea, I know what works for me (Glock 19 / LC9) but I have no Idea what would work for you. Check out that link.
    "Now then, take your weapons, your quiver and your bow, and go out to the field and hunt game for me" -Genesis 27:3

Quote Originally Posted by mindymac1 View Post
    For only home protection, I'm considering buying a gun and need advice on what kind of a gun to purchase, where to purchase, general cost of a gun, and where I can get free or low cost gun safety training. Help!

Would this thread help?

http://tinyurl.com/83feggw
    Gloria: "65 percent of the people murdered in the last 10 years were killed by hand guns"
    Archie Bunker: "would it make you feel better, little girl, if they was pushed outta windows?"

http://www.moviewavs.com/TV_Shows/Al...he_Family.html

Training first, gun second.

Don't skimp on either. It's not a cheap hobby.

(Lycoming County)