Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: 3 Gun Shotgun

(Lehigh County)

Default 3 Gun Shotgun

What is a good, inexpensive shotgun to buy to start shooting and practicing for 3 gun competitions? Is it better to go with a shorter barrel for quick movement or a longer one for better accuracy? I'm just getting into shooting competitions and I need to buy some gear still. Any info would be helpful.
    Criminals LOVE gun control. It gives them a safe work enviroment.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: 3 Gun Shotgun

I bought a Mossberg 930 SPX with the intention of getting into 3-gun. I bought a Choate +5 magazine extension that never really worked 100% so I traded it in for a Saiga 12. I like the idea of being able to reload with a magazine instead of speed loaders or one by one.
    I've heard a lot of good things about the Remington Tac 4, and Benelli semi-auto lineup.
    So, there's 4 shotguns that range anywhere between $450-1400. That should get you started in your research for a nice competition gun.

I also was gonna say the Mossberg 930. Best bang for the buck autoloader out IMO. Then theres also the S-12 but, we start jumping up the cost ladder and down time with conversion. FNH also came out with an SLP MK1 geared towards 3 gun comp.

http://www.fnhusa.com/le/products/fi...02&mid=FNM0202
    and to the dust you shall return

I love my Tac4 - Not really Cheap but comes ready to go. I have seen people buy cheaper shotguns and try adding tubes and have problems. Unless you want to shoot in open division in 3gun don't get S12.

http://www.remington.com/products/fi...100-tac-4.aspx
    Tantric Shooting Team

How many does the Tac4 hold?
    and to the dust you shall return

Quote Originally Posted by brownman View Post
    How many does the Tac4 hold?
    it holds 8+1
    Tantric Shooting Team

(Westmoreland County)