• Glock 29sf

13 34.21%
  • Ruger SP101 327 Fed Mag

3 7.89%
  • S&W 629 Mountain Gun 44Mag

10 26.32%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default I need help with a new pistol purchase

I'm up in the air about what I want and the spectrum is wide(as it usually is) but I'm considering a new pistol/revolver. In the running is the Ruger LCR in 357, I like the option of using 357 or 38, and 357 mag is a good winter time pocket rocket(even though I don't pocket carry) IWB just like my LCP. The next option is the Glock 29sf; what do I say about why...it's a 10mm. The only dislike I have is I'm not a huge Glock fan but I like the 10mm in the small package of the 29. The Ruger SP101 in 327 Fed Mag, I have been intrigued by the cartridge since it came out, but I have no experience with it at all but I have had 2 in 357 mag and love them. And last but not least a S&W 629 Mountain gun 4" barrel 44Mag. I would not carry this except for journey's into the woods hunting, fishing or hiking, but my only rebuttal to this is the Glock29 could do the same job. I would love to hear what you guys think, I'm not in a rush to buy anything yet but within the next few weeks maybe even after Christmas making my purchase. Obviously some of these are a horse of another color but do worry about that, I just want to hear about the choice of pistol.
    Thanks
    Last edited by *Klutch*; November 24th, 2011 at 10:45 AM.

(Lancaster County)

Default Re: I need help with a new pistol purchase

I vote for the 44 mountain gun only because I saw a nice one in the classifieds last night.

(Luzerne County)

When I go hiking, I carry my S&W model 60 in 357 mag. There are bears and bgs out there!

Quote Originally Posted by nailer View Post
    When I go hiking, I carry my S&W model 60 in 357 mag. There are bears and bgs out there!
    how does the model 60 handle the 357 mag?

I like the 327 mag but I'm leaning toward the 357 right now. I was in Cabela's last night and those 327 cartridges are small.