Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    (Luzerne County)

Default Full Auto Pricing

Im finishing up an ar build this month(semi-auto) and ive been wanting a full auto rifle.I dont know ANYTHING about them.When i look at the ones that are for sale they a thousands of dollars.Why is this?wouldnt it just be cheaper to build one as the legal end was taken care of???Im building my AR now on a $2,000 budget.If i have a $2,000 budget for my next build will that be enough to build a full auto Ar15?Thanks in advance and sorry im still a newb to this part of the hobby.

Default Re: Full Auto Pricing

There are plenty of people that know more about this than I do. My understending is tou would have to buy either buy a registered sear or full auto lower reciever to legaly assemble one, and the reason they are so expensive is 1986 was the last year for registering full autos. so whats out there is it basicaly.

(Allegheny County)

The long/short of it is that in May 1986, Congress snuck a law into place that banned any new full-auto NFA from being mfg for "civilian consumption". All new full-auto NFA was for official use only; sales samples, LEO, govt.

That ended the days of SWD making M11/9s, M&K 760s, A-O 1928As, Class 2 mfgs making auto-sears, drop-in auto sears, re-welds, trigger-packs, auto-bolts, tube recvrs, conversions of semi-autos, etc, et al. Obviously the same for private citizens doing Form 1 conversions of semi-autos.

The market was now reduced to just those quantities of full-auto-related NFA goodies already "out here" and available for re-sale transfers amongst us unwashed masses. The law of supply/demand at work.

So - since you can't make any more automatic ARs for us civvies, the existing ones out there continue to stay expensive.
    All of my guns are lubed with BACON GREASE.

(Luzerne County)