Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default Shooting left with my AR. Need advice!!

This is my first AR-15 and I am a novice when it comes to firing it. It's a DPMS with a YHM upper receiver. I just installed MI front and rear sights and a red dot from Truglo. Which is a perfect co witness. My problem is I am shooting to the left so much so that my rear sight will be maxed out if I go any further with it. This group is from 25 yards, no bench rest. I am shooting reloaded 55gr. ammo. I used the rear peep sight only and I tried canting the gun to the right to see if that helped and it didn't. There is approximately 1000 rounds down the barrel since new. I have zero experience shooting from a bench. I actually shoot worse because I never shot from a bench.

Also, If you know anybody that would be willing to teach me to be a better shooter with this gun I would appreciate it. (Even paid lessons) I live in Berks County (Mt.Penn) I could use help sighting this gun in.

Thanks

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: Shooting left with my AR. Need advice!!

You can let someone who is an experienced shooter try out the rifle to make sure that it's not you. You can try steadying the gun by putting it on some sort of rest (sand bag, bipod, etc.) to make sure that you don't sway the gun when you shoot. If all is steady, shooting left usually means too little trigger finger (assuming you're shooting right handed).

If it's the gun, try using the red dot and sight in the gun with the red dot only. If you start to hit center consistently, it's possible that your gas block and/or you front sight is canted. Make sure the gas block is perfectly perpendicular to your upper receiver rail (not your quad rail, unless your quad rail is perfectly perpendicular to your upper receiver).

Search youtube for "rifle shooting techniques", you will get plenty of helpful videos to help you with your skills.

Al