Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default New to the forum...inquiring about Coyote hunting.

Hey fellas, first I just wanted to tell you a little about myself.

I'm originally from Plum, PA. I'm now a junior at Penn State majoring in Biology with an emphasis on Vertebrate Physiology. When not involved in my studies i'm a pretty chill guy. I enjoy watching tv, playing ping pong, frisbee, pool, football, bowling, hunting, fishing, and hiking.

I've been hunting for 6 years, and up until now, have limited it to whitetail. Most of that hunting has taken place at my camp in Armstrong County (Ford City/Kittaning).

Well, i'm ready to broaden my horizons. I bought a bear tag when I got my license this year (and i'm still looking for places to hunt...hint hint). Most of all, though, i'm interested in Coyote hunting. I went out calling for the first time at my friends familie's hunting camp/preserve. Between the family they own almost 3000 acres (and for the record, i got a tour of the property from the grandfather and it's the nicest property i've ever seen!) Needless to say I had no idea what I was doing and didn't see as much as a bird.

I guess the point of this thread, other than introducing myself, is to try to get some information on hunting coyote. I was using a Primos power dogg but wasn't sure what to run and how long to run it. Also, what should I be looking for as for a good "stand" location?

I'm sure i'll think of more questions later and will add them as they fly into my brain. Thanks for any input guys. I really look forward to what you guys have to say..

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: New to the forum...inquiring about Coyote hunting.