Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Exclamation Custom Full Auto submachine gun question

I am somewhat new to the NFA/Class III relm. So here is my question:
    I often buy guns and parts off of Gunbroker.com and a few other gun auction sites. I was wondering if i was able to buy the parts and piece together my own MP5 or something along those lines, and get it legal here in PA? I would absolutely love to own something like that but i want to know if i am legally allowed to custom build it. I often see "registered full auto" parts for sale online that only shit to NFA dealers....

CAn someone clear this up for me so i have a better understand please?

Thanks!

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Custom Full Auto submachine gun question

Normal folks like you or I can only have a machinegun transferred to us that was already made and registered before 1986. It is illegal to construct a new machine gun after that date, and all machineguns made after that date can only be transferred to police/military.

Auto sears made and registered before 1986 can be used to make a normal semi-auto into a machinegun because the auto sear is the registered part in those situations.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Bucks County)

What's your budget for this MP5 build? Unless you have at LEAST 15K laying around it's not gonna happen.

(Washington County)

You need to find a registered, transferable machinegun.

And pony up the cash. Only those who can afford it, or have powerful political connections need apply to the post 1986 world.

(Lancaster County)

First off, let me apalogize on my spelling and grammer...at work and trying to type fast :P